Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content

Volume 8, Number 10—October 2002
Bioterrorism-related Anthrax

Bioterrorism-related Anthrax

Epidemiologic Investigations of Bioterrorism-Related Anthrax, New Jersey, 2001

Carolyn M. Greene*Comments to Author , Jennita Reefhuis*, Christina Tan*, Anthony E. Fiore*, Susan Goldstein*, Michael J. Beach*, Stephen C. Redd*, David Valiante, Gregory A. Burr*, James W. Buehler*, Robert W. Pinner*, Eddy Bresnitz, Beth P. Bell*, and the CDC New Jersey Anthrax Investigation Team
Author affiliations: *Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Atlanta, Georgia, USA;

Main Article

Table 1

Characteristics of New Jersey case-patients in the bioterrorism-related anthrax outbreak, September–October 2002

Characteristic Case 1 Case 2 Case 3 Case 4 Case 5 Case 6
Sex Female Male Male Female Female Female
Age (yrs) 45 39 35 56 43 51
Cutaneous/ inhalational Cutaneous Cutaneous Cutaneous Inhalational Inhalational Cutaneous
Postal worker Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes No
Employed at Trenton PDCa No Yes Yes Yes Yes No
Date of illness onset 9/28 9/26 10/14 10/14 10/15 10/17
Incubation period 9 daysb 8 days 5 days 5 days 6 days Unknown
Hospitalized Yes No Yes Yes Yes Yes
Survived Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes

aPDC, postal distribution center.
bAssuming exposure on 9/19.

Main Article

1 The CDC New Jersey Anthrax Investigation Team consists of Paul P. Abamonte, Chidinma Alozie-Arole, Gregory Armstrong, Sherrie Bruce, Shadi Chamany, Diane Crawford, Donita R. Croft, Colleen Crowe, Stephanie I. Davis, George DiFerdinando, Catherine Dentinger, Deborah A. Deppe, Mary Dillon, Mary Dott, Leigh A. Farrington, Michael Fraser, Dara S. Friedman, Jessica Gardom, Carol Genese, Dawn Gnesda, Rita Helfand, Beth C. Imhoff, Greg J. Jones, Renee Joskow, Pavani Kalluri, Sean G. Kaufman, Melody Kawamoto, Malinda Kennedy, Jonathon D. King, Susan McClure, Michelle McConnell, Peter D. McElroy, Kenneth R. Mead, Suzanne Miro, R. Leroy Mickelsen, Jeff Nemhauser, Mita Patel, Cindi Pecoraro, Marion Pierce, Lisa Roth-Edwards, Hardeep Sandhu, Donald Schill, Michael Sells, Nicole Tucker, Reuben Varghese, Daniel J. Yereb, and Juan Zubieta.