Skip directly to site content Skip directly to page options Skip directly to A-Z link Skip directly to A-Z link Skip directly to A-Z link
Volume 8, Number 10—October 2002
Bioterrorism-related Anthrax
Bioterrorism-related Anthrax

The Public Health Response and Epidemiologic Investigation Related to the Opening of a Bacillus anthracis–Containing Envelope, Capitol Hill, Washington, D.C.

Vincent P. Hsu*Comments to Author , Susan L. Lukacs*, Thomas Handzel*, James Hayslett*, Scott Harper*, Thomas Hales*, Vera A. Semenova*, Sandra Romero-Steiner*, Cheryl Elie*, Conrad P. Quinn*, Rima Khabbaz*, Ali S. Khan*, Gregory Martin†, John Eisold‡, Anne Schuchat*, and Rana A. Hajjeh*
Author affiliations: *Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Atlanta, Georgia, USA; †National Naval Medical Center, Bethesda, Maryland, USA; ‡Office of the Attending Physician, U.S. Capitol, Washington, D.C., USA;

Main Article

Table 1

Timeline of events within the Hart Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C., October 15, 2001a

Time of day Event /response
9:45 a.m. Staff person opens letter containing Bacillus anthracis spores.
9:55 a.m. First responders arrive at scene.
10:00 a.m. Hazardous device unit arrives at scene and performs initial tests for B. anthracis.
10:15 a.m. First rapid test is positive for B. anthracis.
10:30 a.m. Ventilation system turned off.
Second rapid test is positive.
OAPb begins nasal swab testing and antibiotic chemoprophylaxis distribution.
10:40 a.m. 6th floor staff moved to 9th floor; swabbing continues; staff later moved to 5th floor.
3:00 p.m. Senators Daschle and Feingold’s staff allowed to go home.

aOne responder with a positive nasal swab who was in the 6th-floor hallway did not enter the Daschle or Feingold suites and was not included in this table.
bOAP, Office of the Attending Physician.

Main Article

1 Members of the CDC Washington, D.C., Anthrax Response Team: Alicia Anderson, Tracy Agerton , Mary-Kate Appicelli, Paul Arguin, Robert Benson, Lilah Besser, Richard Besser, John Brooks, John Cardinelly, George Carlone, Mei Castor, Gerald Curtis, Lisa Delaney, Peter Dull, Eric Esswein, Cindy Friedman, Kate Glynn, Ron Hall, Rick Hartle, Leigh Ann Hawley, Leta Helsel, Tami Hilger, Patricia Holder, Scott Johnson, Molly Kellum, Bradley King, Jonathan King, Maria Elena Jefferds, Jill Levine, Han Li, Ken Martinez, Dino Mattorano, Jane McCamon, Trudy Messmer, Elizabeth Mothershed, Andy Mullins, Minday Perilla, Janet Pruckler, Julia Rhodes, Daniel Schmidt, Stephanie Schwartz, Theresa Smith, Karen Stamey, Evelene Steward-Clark, Eyasu Teshale, Lanier Thacker, Tim Uyeki, and Brad Winterton.

Page created: July 19, 2010
Page updated: July 19, 2010
Page reviewed: July 19, 2010
The conclusions, findings, and opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the official position of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors' affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.