Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content

Volume 14, Number 1—January 2008
International Polar Year


Epidemiology of Haemophilus influenzae Serotype a, North American Arctic, 2000–2005

Michael G. Bruce*Comments to Author , Shelley L. Deeks†, Tammy Zulz*, Christine Navarro†, Carolina Palacios‡, Cheryl Case§, Colleen Hemsley¶, Tom Hennessy*, Andre Corriveau§, Bryce Larke¶, Isaac Sobel‡, Marguerite Lovgren#, Carolynn DeByle*, Raymond Tsang**, Alan J. Parkinson*, and the International Circumpolar Surveillance Hia Working Group1
Author affiliations: *Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Anchorage, Alaska, USA; †Public Health Agency of Canada, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; ‡Nunavut Department of Health, Iqaluit, Nunavut, Canada; §Northwest Territories Department of Health and Social Services, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories, Canada; ¶Yukon Health and Social Services, Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada; #National Centre for Streptococcus, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada; **National Microbiology Laboratory, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada;

Main Article

Table 2

Cases and annualized incidence rate per 100,000 population of Invasive Haemophilus influenzae type a disease by age and ethnicity, 2000–2005*

Demographic group Total no. (range/y); rate (range/100,000/y) Alaska, no. cases (rate) Northern Canada, no. cases (rate) p value*
Overall 42 (4–9); 0.9 (0.5–1.2) 11 (0.3) 31 (3.9) <0.001
<2 y of age 30 (1–8) ;19.7 (4.0–31.4) 7 (5.7) 23 (79.1) <0.001
Indigenous 35 (4–8); 2.9 (2.0–4.0) 8 (1.1) 27 (5.9) <0.001
<2 y of age, indigenous 29 (1–8); 52.6 (11.2–86.2) 7 (20.9) 22 (101.9) <0.001

*p value for rate, Alaska vs. northern Canada.

Main Article

1International Circumpolar Surveillance Hia Working Group: Michael G. Bruce, Dana Bruden, Carolynn DeByle, Marcella Harker-Jones, Tom Hennessy, Kim Boyd Hummel, Debby Hurlburt, Alan J. Parkinson, Debby Parks, Helen Peters, Alisa Reasonover, Tammy Zulz, (CDC); Shelley L. Deeks, Christine Navarro, Raymond Tsang (Public Health Agency of Canada); Carolina Palacios, Isaac Sobel (Nunavut Department of Health); Cheryl Case, Andre Corriveau (Northwest Territories Department of Health and Social Services); Colleen Hemsley, Bryce Larke (Yukon Health and Social Services); Marguerite Lovgren, Gregory Tyrell (National Centre for Streptococcus, Edmonton); Louise Jette, Louise Ringuette (Quebec Public Health Laboratory)