Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content

Volume 8, Number 2—February 2002


An Outbreak of Rift Valley Fever in Northeastern Kenya, 1997-98

Christopher W. Woods*Comments to Author , Adam M. Karpati*, Thomas Grein†, Noel McCarthy†, Peter Gaturuku§, Eric Muchiri§, Lee Dunster¶, Alden Henderson*, Ali S. Khan*, Robert Swanepoel#, Isabelle Bonmarin, Louise Martin**, Philip Mann††, Bonnie L. Smoak‡‡, Michael Ryan**, Thomas G. Ksiazek*, Ray R. Arthur**, Andre Ndikuyeze**, Naphtali N. Agata**, Clarence J Peters*, and the World Health Organization Hemorrhagic Fever Task Force
Author affiliations: *Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Atlanta, Georgia, USA; †European Program for Intervention Epidemiology Training (EPIET), European Union, Saint-Maurice, France; EPICENTRE, Paris, France; §Kenya Ministry of Health, Nairobi, Kenya; ¶Kenyan Medical Research Institute, Nairobi, Kenya; #National Institutes of Virology (NIV), Sandringham, South Africa; **World Health Organization, African Regional Office, Harare, Zimbabwe; ††Médècins Sans Frontieres, Paris, France; ‡‡United States Army Medical Research Unit, Kenya; §§International Federation of the Red Cross and Red Crescent, Geneva, Switzerland; ¶¶Médècins du Monde, Paris, France; ##Africa Medical Research Foundation, Nairobi, Kenya

Main Article

Table 1

Results of testing for laboratory-confirmed cases of Rift Valley fever, Garissa District, Kenya, 1997–98

Onset dateCollection dateVirus isolationRT-PCRIgM ELISAIgG ELISA
12/18/9712/26/97-Not done++
12/22/9701/22/98Not doneNot done++
12/30/9701/23/98Not done+++
1/18/9801/22/98Not done-++
1/28/9802/02/98Not doneNot done++
2/7/9802/09/98Not doneNot done+-

RT-PCR=reverse transcription-polymerase chain reaction; IG=immunoglobulin; ELISA=enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay.

Main Article

1 Members of the World Health Organization (WHO) Hemorrhagic Fever Task Force, in addition to the listed authors, included Paul Arguin, David Ashford, Julianna Grant, Stuart Nichol, and Brian Plikaytis, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; Marta Valenciano, European Program for Intervention Epidemiology Training, European Union; James N. Mwanzia, Philip Kangethe, Stephen A. Mileso, and Quinto Maloba, Kenya Ministry of Health; Manuela Dunster, Kenyan Medical Research Institute; Alan Kemp and Koos Coetzer, National Institutes of Virology, Sandringham, South Africa; Jean-Jacques Muyembe, Philip M. Mothoka, Gregory C. Gottlieb, John H. Bierke, and Glyn Davies, WHO, Geneva and African Regional Office; Saade Abdallah, International Federation of the Red Cross and Red Crescent; Elizabeth Nicore and Olivier West, Médècins du Monde; and Christine Grace Adhiambo, Africa Medical Research Foundation.