Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content

Volume 7, Number 3—June 2001


PulseNet: The Molecular Subtyping Network for Foodborne Bacterial Disease Surveillance, United States

Bala SwaminathanComments to Author , Timothy J. Barrett, Susan B. Hunter, Robert V. Tauxe, and the CDC PulseNet Task Force
Author affiliations: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Atlanta, Georgia USA

Main Article

Table 2

Priority order for inclusion of foodborne bacterial pathogens in PulseNet

Pathogen Expected year of inclusion
Escherichia coli O157:H7 1997
Nontyphoidal Salmonella serotypes 1998
Listeria monocytogenes 1999
Shigella sonnei 1999
Clostridium perfringens 2001
Campylobacter jejuni 2001
Vibrio parahaemolyticus 2001
V. cholerae 2001
Clostridium botulinum 2002
Other pathogenic E. coli 2002
Yersinia enterocolitica 2003

Main Article

1The CDC PulseNet Task Force includes John Allan, Michelle Bird, Daniel Cameron, Wallis DeWitt, Thomas Donkar, Collette Fitzgerald, Judy Gaither, Lewis Graves, Peggy Hayes, Jared Kerr, Kristy Kubota, Mary Ann Lambert-Fair, Susan Maslanka, Loretta McCroskey, Jeremy Miller, Heather Noll, Efrain Ribot, Nicole Tucker, Susan Van Duyne, and the authors.